Vegan Cooking & Cookbooks discussion

Non-Vegan Cookbooks > Vegetarian Cookbooks with Great Vegan Recipes

Comments Showing 1-9 of 9 (9 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Lee, Unrepentant Eggplant Addict (new)

Lee (leekat) | 1027 comments Mod
If you want to tell us about a vegetarian cookbook with great vegan recipes, please post in this thread.

A cookbook that I recently aquired and that has hundreds of great looking vegan recipes is Madhur Jaffrey's World Vegetarian: More Than 650 Meatless Recipes from Around the World.

message 2: by Ginny (new)

Ginny Messina | 33 comments My copy of The Moosewood Cookbook: Recipes from Moosewood Restaurant, Ithaca, New Yorkis literally falling apart--it's in about 7 or 8 pieces--because I have used it so much. It was my second vegetarian cookbook (Laurel's Kitchen: A Handbook for Vegetarian Cookery and Nutritionwas my first) and I have been cooking from it for some 25 years. I've veganized some of the recipes (I make the Mushroom Strudel every Thanksgiving) but it also has some already-vegan recipes.

With all of the wonderful vegan cookbooks available now, I don't know that I'd urge people to run out and buy this. I think for me, it has a lot of sentimental value. But it also has pretty great recipes!

message 3: by Lee, Unrepentant Eggplant Addict (new)

Lee (leekat) | 1027 comments Mod
I actually have The Moosewood Cookbook home from the library right now because I was participating in an online challenge related to this book. Our current group avatar (the soup) is actually the Gypsy Soup recipe from the book! I also made a veganized version of the Apricot Almond Bread which turned out pretty well. I probably won't buy a copy but it's an interesting book.

message 4: by Kathy (new)

Kathy Hester | 18 comments I love the Moosewood cookbook. I actually learned how to cook from it so it has a special place in my heart.

message 5: by [deleted user] (new)