Urban Fantasy discussion

GROUP READ OF THE MONTH--ARCHIVE > Queen of Shadows--March Group Read--SPOILERS

Comments Showing 1-17 of 17 (17 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Theresa (new)

Theresa  (tsorrels) Ok to post spoilers here.

Please remember to uncheck the "Add to my Update Feed" option before submitting your post.

message 2: by Galla (new)

Galla | 32 comments What I liked:

- The setting. As a Texas resident, I really loved what Sylvan did with vampires in Austin. Also loved the fact that the heroine ordered Shiner instead of crappy piss beers, lol.

- The characters. I fundamentally like both David and Miranda, so it's easy to get invested in their story.

- The training. I like the fact that Miranda really has to work to develop her abilities--she's not one of those heroines who just magically downloads new, badass powers every time she needs them.

What I didn't like:

- Honestly, this could go either way, but this book reads much more like PNR than what I think of as UF. I have no problem with that, but if a reader is hoping to avoid romance tropes, this isn't the place to look.

- The gang rape. I could have prepared myself by reading reviews ahead of time, but I didn't. As a result, I found the rape scene in this book really upsetting. If I had known about it ahead of time, I might have been prepared, but I wasn't--and I was really taken aback.

I do think the author handled the aftermath with sensitivity, but I also don't think the rape scene was entirely necessary to begin with.

- Lines about prophecies dropped in that are obvious to the readers, but not to the characters. They seem a little daft for not acting on info they've been given.

Overall, I gave it 3.5 stars and will look forward to reading the next in the series.

message 3: by Theresa (new)

Theresa  (tsorrels) Was the rape scene described in detail? I've been hesitant to pick this one up because of that... if it is detailed, I won't be reading it.