Mystery/Thriller Reading Friends discussion

Monthly "Reads" > Shomeret's January Reads 3/3

Comments Showing 1-5 of 5 (5 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Shomeret (last edited Mar 02, 2011 02:47AM) (new)

Shomeret | 1371 comments 11)The Muse of the Revolution: The Secret Pen of Mercy Otis Warren and the Founding of a Nationby Nancy Rubin Stuart (biography)268 pages. Source: Library Started: 1/22 Finished: 1/22

Why Read: As an undergrad I wrote a paper about Mercy Otis Warren for an intellectual history course. The book on Franklin in France mentioned this book which didn't exist when I was doing my paper. So I figured I needed an update on America's first woman playwright.

Comments: I can't say I learned very much. I learned about the insanity that affected some of the men in the Otis family. I read about John Adams' obnoxious behavior toward Mercy Otis Warren which seriously irritated me and reminded me of how irritating I have thought John Adams was in every history book where he's a major player. In this one he's revealed as a monarchist. Rating B

12)A Wild Lightby Marjorie Liu (urban fantasy) 308 pages. Source: Independent Bookstore Started: 1/23 Finished: 1/23

Why Read: This was a choice for my Urban Fantasy challenge. I chose it because I've liked this series. It's about Maxine Kiss, a demon fighter with living tattoos who fight along with her and protect her. Demon fighters don't interest me, but living tattoos do. I also really like her lover Grant who runs a homeless shelter and is an empath.