The Lost Entwife Read-Alongs discussion

Madame Bovary > Week 1 Discussion: Part I - Chapters 1-6

Comments Showing 1-13 of 13 (13 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Lydia (new)

Lydia Presley | 119 comments Mod
Post your comments on Chapters 1-6 here.

message 2: by Megan (new)

Megan (megoizzy) | 40 comments i'm still waiting on my copy to arrive via the book depository. it's my first time using that site - thx for the recommendation lydia - so we'll see how quickly it comes!

message 3: by Megan (new)

Megan (megoizzy) | 40 comments book arrived today. yay!

message 4: by Lynnette (new)

Lynnette | 8 comments I gave myself an ultimatum last night. If I had the book, I'd join the read along. Surprise! I had the book. Got two chapters done and am quite surprised that it reads easily. I thought it might be more wordy and dark. Looking forward to the discussion.

message 5: by Lydia (new)

Lynnette wrote: "I gave myself an ultimatum last night. If I had the book, I'd join the read along. Surprise! I had the book. Got two chapters done and am quite surprised that it reads easily. I thought it might be..."

Awesome! Glad to have you join us again Auntie.

message 6: by Lynnette (new)

Lynnette | 8 comments I am enjoying this book. The author is a storyteller par excellance! It is like he is telling the story from first person, but not quite.

A favorite line: "The novelty and pleasure of being independent soon made solitude more bearable." Score one for single people!

Another favorite: "And now she could not bring herself to believe that the uneventful life she was leading was the happiness of which she had dreamed."

I liked his description of Emma at the convent. What a commentary on romance novels, eh?

message 7: by Lydia (new)

Lynnette wrote: "I am enjoying this book. The author is a storyteller par excellance! It is like he is telling the story from first person, but not quite.