Quirky humour discussion

Writing Humour

Comments Showing 1-21 of 21 (21 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Simon (new)

Simon Dunn (sighdone) | 9 comments Hi,

Just wanted to say hi. I'm a comedy writer, and would love to hear some recommendations for silly books.

The bookshelf has already thrown up some gems.

Thanks
Simon

message 2: by Stephen (new)

Stephen Goldin (stephengoldin) | 7 comments Well, if you don't mind a little immodesty, I'd like to recommend my own book, Polly! by Stephen Goldin . I think it's reasonably funny, and a couple of reviewers even agree with me: Bill Furlow at Great Books Under $5 and Flying With Red Haircrow. I'm kinda proud of those reviews.

message 3: by Simon (new)

Simon Dunn (sighdone) | 9 comments Thanks Stephen, I'll check it out.

message 4: by Colin (new)

Colin Mckenna | 4 comments Simon, I just read a couple of books by Christopher Buckley and he is incredibly funny. I could not stop laughing at "Little Green Men". It wasn't at all what I expected in terms of how he would approach the subject. If you check it out you'll see what I mean.

message 5: by Simon (new)

Simon Dunn (sighdone) | 9 comments I saw him on a shelf the other day, so I'll add him, thanks Colin.

message 6: by Norm (new)

Norm (normcowie) | 10 comments Dave Barry's, the syndicated humor columnist, wrote some hilarious novels (Big Trouble). I didn't think his Peter Pan books were as funny, though he had a co-writer.

And, at the risk of seeming immodest, reviewers have said my stuff is pretty good.

Norm
www.normcowie.com

message 7: by Man (new)

Man Martin | 2 comments After a plug for my own books - DAYS OF THE ENDLESS CORVETTE and PARADISE DOGS (out this summer - register now for a free copy) I have to recommend LUCKY JIM by Amis, CODE OF THE WOOSTERS by Wodehouse, and a HANDFUL OF DUST by Waugh.

message 8: by [deleted user] (new)

Hi Simon,

Check out my book.
Learn Just Enough . . . to Get Laid by Tyler DeAngelo