New Yorkers discussion

NYC Bookstores

Comments Showing 1-16 of 16 (16 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Sarah (new)

Sarah Elizabeth I'm new to the group. This is my third year living in New York, but being a student, I am only just discovering the city. I have a job in Greenpoint, I have classes near Lincoln Center and I live in the Bronx. Pretty intense, I know. Anyway, I was just wondering what everyone's favorite bookstores are in the city. Any small or large favorites??

message 2: by L (last edited Feb 28, 2011 07:15AM) (new)

L (lexlib) | 2 comments There's a great independent bookstore in the West Village called bookbook. It's not particularly close to any of the places you listed, but it's one of my favorites.... Seems like every time I go in there, I find a book that I've been unable to find anywhere else.

message 3: by Sarah (new)

Sarah Elizabeth Hahahaha these area all great suggestions, and I don't mind the travel. I definitely mentioned it so that every New Yorker here could appreciate how worldly (here meaning "New Yorker-y") I seem to be on a daily basis. haha

I love the Strand and Books of Wonder, the children's book store. I also was a huge fan of the Barnes and Noble that was across from the Lincoln Center plaza. UNFORTUNATELY, I've just learned that it's closed down in favor of a new Century 21. Blegh! lol

But this morning I went to the barnes and noble on 82nd and broadway. Not to sound like the chain store queen because believe me I'm not, but that B&N is my new favorite of the chain.

message 4: by Amy (last edited Mar 01, 2011 11:34AM) (new)

Amy (nycbookworm07) | 6 comments That's what's replacing the Lincoln Ctr location?! Sad. At least there are more locations. I'm a big fan of Barnes & Noble (I'm actually a member!), but there is also a lovely bookstore in the SoHo area calling The Housing Works Bookstore (http://bit.ly/gzZgaM) on Crosby street. Check that one out.