Pulp Magazine Authors and Literature Fans discussion

Specific authors/works > H.P. Lovecraft

Comments Showing 1-34 of 34 (34 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Abhay (new)

Abhay | 14 comments Hey guys I am new to goodreads and just posting this discussion here to know any other Lovecraft fans.

message 2: by Werner (new)

Werner Abhay, Lovecraft is one of my favorite writers --and there are some people in this group who are even much more into his work than I am! So you'll be right at home here in that department. :-) Welcome to Goodreads, and hope you come to enjoy it as much as I do!

message 3: by Abhay (new)

Abhay | 14 comments Thanks Werner

message 4: by Mohammed (new)

Mohammed  Burhan Abdi Osman (mohammedaosman) | 70 comments Welcome Abhah. Im reading HPL collction right now and see if his writing is for me.

message 5: by Creature (new)

Creature | 5 comments Hello:
Count me in as a Lovecraft reader as well.
Have a Great Day!!!
The "Creature"

message 6: by John (last edited Jun 29, 2011 02:34PM) (new)

John Karr (karr) | 62 comments Slowly working my way through an H.P. Horror Anthology. Enjoyed The Outsider and The Picture In The House most so far.

Rats In The Walls had me wondering why Roman stuff was in Virginia, USA.

I'm finding H.P. was more of an atmosphere / suspense writer, more so than my pulp hero, Robert E. Howard. It's almost a little too much with the adjectives, but am enjoying the material.

Great link here to H.P.'s material: http://www.hplovecraft.com/

From The Outsider:
"As I approached the arch I began to perceive the presence more clearly; and then, with the first and last sound I ever uttered—a ghastly ululation that revolted me almost as poignantly as its noxious cause—I beheld in full, frightful vividness the inconceivable, indescribable, and unmentionable monstrosity which had by its simple appearance changed a merry company to a herd of delirious fugitives."

message 7: by Philip (new)