Better World Book Club discussion

Recipe Exchange & Help > Vegan Baking

Comments Showing 1-17 of 17 (17 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Amanda (new)

Amanda | 54 comments Yep, your resident newbie vegan again. My work is having a Chili cook-off and bake-off. I was thinking about entering the baking competition with a vegan something. Any suggestions? I think there's one other vegetarian here, but that's it. Wouldn't it be awesome if I won and then I told everyone they were vegan _____!?!? I'm a fairly good baker, but I've never baked without dairy. So, I need some help/suggestions. I'm open to cookies, brownies, cupcakes, whatever. Help! :)

message 2: by Barbara (new)

Barbara Logan | 4 comments The Joy of Vegan Baking by Colleen Patrick-Goudreau is great. I heard her speak in Tampa this month. She is awesome!

message 3: by d4 (new)

d4 | 109 comments Mod
Most of my baking is from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World: 75 Dairy-Free Recipes for Cupcakes that Rule & Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar. The former has a yummy pumpkin chocolate chip cupcake recipe with cinnamon icing that is really simple. The latter has a yummy recipe for "Banana Everything" cookies (banana, oatmeal, chocolate chip, walnuts) and these apple peanut pretzel drops that are my bf's current favorite. The banana everything cookies were his favorite for like a year.

I could e-mail you a couple of recipes if you'd like.

message 4: by Amanda (new)

Amanda | 54 comments Oh! Those cupcakes sound awesome! Can you send me that one and some cookie recipes? I'm also thinking some spring recipes. Not sure what that means though...

message 5: by Amanda (new)

Amanda | 54 comments I NEED VCTOTW! I've been reading reviews and I'm going to have to purchase it. In the meantime, can I also have the recipe for the Chocolate Stout Cupcakes? I found a variation online, but I'm wondering what the cupcake bible says.

message 6: by d4 (new)

d4 | 109 comments Mod