History is Not Boring discussion

Art and History?

Comments Showing 1-15 of 15 (15 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Jonathan (new)

Jonathan Lopez | 31 comments Hi, I'm new to goodreads and to this group, but I'm wondering if anyone else is interested in the intersections of art and history? This could mean either traditional art history, or else the historical or political uses of images? This struck me as possibly an interesting topic of discussion within "history is not boring," since I think that images can often help to bring history to life. Any recommendations for books that look at the role of images in history? Thanks!

message 2: by Lea (new)

Lea | 14 comments If you're interested in the French Revolution, Lynn Hunt, a professor at UCLA, has written a lot in this area. There's also a great website that deals entirely with images of the French Revolution, organized by the history department of George Mason University. http://chnm.gmu.edu/revolution/imaging/

message 3: by Jim (new)

Jim the book GOYA comes to mind

I read it quite a while ago butit was very history-art oriented as Goya painted some famous scenes of conflicts between citizens and government which I can see but don't remember titles

message 4: by Jonathan (new)

Jonathan Lopez | 31 comments Thanks Jim. Is that the Robert Hughes Goya? I very much like Robert Hughes, but now that you mention it I had forgotten about that book. I'll put it on my "to read" list. Thanks!

message 5: by James (new)

James Great subtopic. One of the best history courses I ever got the chance to take was set up to include a focus on art and other cultural media for each period - the text had three chapters for each time period; one was about political and military events, one about technology and lifestyles, and one about the arts.