Goodreads Librarians Group discussion

Questions > Manuel Ortiz Braschi?

Comments Showing 1-8 of 8 (8 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Stacey (last edited Feb 16, 2011 06:12AM) (new)

Stacey (stacita) | 4 comments I'm pretty new to being a librarian, so I wanted to check before I jump in to this one... While working through the New Century backlog, I ran across Manuel Ortiz Braschi: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/...

He seems to be listed as an author on a ton of books, an editor on a ton of books, but as nearly I can tell, this is, like New Century, a publisher who should be listed as such and removed as an author/editor. I'm basing this on partly the sheer volume of publications, but also this note I found in the text of several of his books:

"Dear Readers:

We are dedicated to providing our customers with cutting edge information with the latest and most popular ebooks & hot topics at very affordable prices. Our mission is to create positive change in your life. We carry hundreds of unique titles including "Literary Classics" under many categories for your convenience. Please click on the name "Manuel Ortiz Braschi" at the top of the page, next to the title, or write "Manuel Ortiz Braschi" at the search box and you will be taken to our main page in Amazon, where you will be able to check all the interesting, unique and informative titles that we carry at Amazon Kindle."

I also noticed that a lot of these books have ratings, comments, and all sorts of other random stuff crammed into the title., e.g. "The Art Of War: The Oldest Military Treatise In The World! A Classic By Sun Tzu! AAA+++"

I'm thinking that this person should perhaps be added to the Sisyphus list, and titles and author/editor fixed where possible. Looks like the actual publisher should be Unique Enterprises.

message 2: by rivka, Librarian Moderator (new)

rivka | 43624 comments Mod
Nope.