The Mystery, Crime, and Thriller Group discussion

Report for Duty > Kate Carlisle saying hi!

Comments Showing 1-9 of 9 (9 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Kate (new)

Kate Carlisle (katecarlisle) | 19 comments Hi, everyone! My name is Kate Carlisle, and I'm a whodunitaholic. I joined Goodreads a while ago, but it was back when I had a day job and spent all my free time writing. Now that I'm a full-time writer, I have more time to spend online, so I'm getting more active here on Goodreads. Accepting all friend requests, so bring them on! :D

Some of my favorite mystery authors include Hannah Dennison (her British humor slays me!), Rhys Bowen (I almost typed in "Bowel," which would not have been nice), Elizabeth Peters... I could go on and on. As you can see, I lean toward the cozy mystery side of the genre, but I do like a good dark murder mystery from authors like Michael Connelly and John Sandford, as well.

message 2: by Jan C (new)

Jan C (woeisme) | 35543 comments Welcome.

I've read a couple of Bowen's and Peters' but I prefer Connelly and Sandford.

The Bowen's that I read were just too cozy. Same thing with Peters. Although I am getting ready to try A River in the Sky. So I am willing to give her another chance.

message 3: by Donna, Co-Moderator (new)

Donna | 2178 comments Mod
Welcome KateCarlisle. I love the "whodunitaholic" title. Add chocoholic and you've described me. I read the full spectrum of mysteries from cozies to noir just depends on my mood.

message 4: by Hayes, Co-Moderator (new)

Hayes (hayes13) | 2060 comments Mod
Hi Kate. Thanks for joining the group. I tend more to the cozies, but I will never say no to chocolate!

message 5: by Kate (new)

Kate Carlisle (katecarlisle) | 19 comments Thank you for the welcome, Jan! I love that there are mysteries for every type of reader. My books are definitely on the cozy end of the spectrum.