Beyond Reality discussion

Previous BotM--DISCUSSIONS > THE PLAYER OF GAMES: contrast between the Culture and Azad *SPOILERS LIKELY*

Comments Showing 1-9 of 9 (9 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Stefan, Group Founder + Moderator (Retired) (new)

Stefan (sraets) | 1667 comments Mod
It's been a few years since I read this, so I'm having trouble thinking of appropriate questions. How do you think Iain M. Banks did in setting up the contrast(s) between the Culture vs. the Empire of Azad?

message 2: by Hélène (new)

Hélène (hlneb) | 89 comments I first thought Azad was a caricature : as the drone led Gurgeh through the city, each new stage seemed overkill to convince G. this was really BAD. Then I immediately reconsidered as it could well be a description of Terra 2011 ! - and not so overkill after all nor surrealist.
As for the Culture, well, this is the first book I read and I've no more background than what is given in this novel. It seems to be a case of iron fist in a velvet glove. Smooth on the outside, ruthless at the core. There is no bomb, no soldier, but utter destruction nonetheless, long planed and relentlessly implemented.
And some sort of Game is played everywhere. Banks play with us as well as we're first led to consider the Azad Empire as evil and to be stopped at all cost. While we are thinking this, he can perhaps make us forget the ethically dubious manipulations of the Culture.

message 3: by Stefan, Group Founder + Moderator (Retired) (new)