Middle East/North African Lit discussion

فوضى الحواس
This topic is about فوضى الحواس
Cruise Salon (Buddy reads) > Chaos of the Senses by A. Mosteghanemi- Algeria

Comments Showing 1-29 of 29 (29 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Bernadette (last edited Feb 18, 2011 10:17PM) (new)

Bernadette (bernadettesimpson) | 205 comments Because I couldn't find Memory in the Flesh, I read Chaos of the Senses, the second book in the trilogy. It took about 75 pages before the story really drew me in...and then the whole thing seemed eerily familiar, although I'm sure I've not read it before! Weird. The love-story thread of this book didn't do too much for me. It was the historical and cultural tidbits that fascinated me. And also made me realize how little background knowledge I had about Algeria going into this book. As a reading teacher, I should know better!! ;-) I'm thinking we need to add some nonfiction to our book shelf for this cruise.

So, here are some quotes/themes from the book that I felt were important. I'm curious if similar topics were explored in the first book, Memory in the Flesh? And if these themes appear often in this author's work?

FREEDOM
“This city might forgive you everything, anything except being different. Isn't freedom, in the end, the right to be different?”

“Freedom for her was simply the freedom to dream.”

“Freedom is waiting for nothing.”