Wild Things: YA Grown-Up discussion

Teachers' and Librarians' Corner > Australian and New Zealand authors - early years to young adults

Comments Showing 1-32 of 32 (32 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Kass (new)

Kass | 16 comments I'm an Aussie and a teacher who loves children's fiction. Time permitting I hope to include some art and crafty ideas to go along with the picture books. I believe that the best Australian authors write for children and teenagers, hope you enjoy.

Recommendations coming very soon.

message 2: by Kass (last edited Jan 25, 2011 01:19AM) (new)

Kass | 16 comments I'll start with one of my favourite authors who also happens to be a great illustrator - Stephen Michael King. He writes and illustrates picture books. So many of his books are about acceptance and all his characters have unforgettable presence.

Henry and Amy:- is my No.1.It is a great book about friendship and accepting each other and ourselves for who we are and what we can offer. The best part is that the message is not in your face - it is beautifully conveyed through fabulous pictures and great writing.

The Man Who Loved Boxes- A fantastic story about the bond between a father and son. A reminder that love can be expressed in many, many different ways - very powerful.

Other books by this author:
Milli, Jack and the Dancing Cat
Mutt Dog!
Emily Loves To Bounce
Leaf

message 3: by Kass (new)

Kass | 16 comments Kass wrote: "I'm an Aussie and a teacher who loves children's fiction. Time permitting I hope to include some art and crafty ideas to go along with the picture books. I believe that the best Australian authors ..."

I forgot to add that if you have any recommendations please add them. Especially suggestions from Kiwi teachers or librarians.

message 4: by Cheryl (new)

Cheryl  (cherylllr) Stephen Michael King. A few of his books are in my library system - I just ordered one.