Book lovers discussion

Random > Smart Phones

Comments Showing 1-12 of 12 (12 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Jo (new)

Jo | 2241 comments Mod
Does anyone have a smart phone? I just got a blackberry and I was wondering if anyone knew of any good apps to download? I'm new to all of this lol.

message 2: by Jim (new)

Jim (jimmaclachlan) I even blocked all texting from my phone, so no, but I have to support the stupid things all the time. The coolest app I've seen is the star map. You can hold your phone up & it will show you the stars with names or draw lines with the constellations. Very cool.

message 3: by Anthony (new)

Anthony Buckley (anthonydbuckley) | 4 comments Now that, Jim, is the only idea I've so far heard that might just persuade me to buy a smart phone!

message 4: by Jo (new)

Jo | 2241 comments Mod
That sounds cool, Jim, although living in England it's normally too cloudy to see the stars! So far I have an app that tracks how far you go when you are cycling. You can change it to walking or running or a bunch of other stuff. I will be dusting off my bike again once the weather picks up and it will be nice to know what kind of distances I am covering. I guess I will need to get some kind of holder for the phone so I don't drop it and break it.

message 5: by Kerri (new)

Kerri I have a blackberry, Jo, but I am clueless in the app world.....my daughter has an iTouch and she seems to know a little more about apps.....I'll ask her. What is the name of your tracking app????? That sounds like something I'd actually use! I did find a Borders app for downloading ebooks to my phone....I haven't used it yet, but did download the app and plan to in the future. I think my kids would LOVE that star app....have to look into that.

message 6: by Jo (new)

Jo | 2241 comments Mod