Young Adult Fiction for Adults discussion

Why is someone always dead?

Comments Showing 1-18 of 18 (18 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Diana (new)

Diana Despite years of reading YA books it suddenly just struck me, why is someone always dead? Parents, siblings, friends, the protagonist must overcome long-seeded grief on a journey of self-discovery. Is this a formula? Certainly I can understand that a conflict is necessary and death is serious in nature, but I'm curious to hear opinions on why YA books are so often... gloomy?

message 2: by Ottilie (new)

Ottilie (ottilie_weber) | 484 comments we all grew up with Disney, how many of them have parents??

message 3: by Brandi (new)

Brandi Not that I have extensive experience in the genre to draw from, but I think it is to add to the teen angst. Their lives always have to be tragic somehow (might not be a fair assumption, but I know IRL it seems like a game for kids to see who has the worse life/drama possible)

message 4: by Brandi (new)

Brandi Ottilie wrote: "we all grew up with Disney, how many of them have parents??"

HA! True, and I never even thought of that till you pointed it out lol.

message 5: by Ottilie (new)

Ottilie (ottilie_weber) | 484 comments hahaha my mom and I went on a rant about it once, it was pretty funny

message 6: by Lloyd (new)

Lloyd | 415 comments I don't know why Diana, but that seems to be the case most of the time doesn't it? From Roald Dahl to Disney movies.

Snail in Danger (Sid) Nicolaides (upsight) | 36 comments How can someone have adventures if their parents are present and attentive? :/

http://tvtropes.org/pmwiki/pmwiki.php...

message 8: by Shelley (last edited Jan 10, 2011 07:50PM) (new)

Shelley | 20 comments This is a HUGE topic for me, because I had this same complaint as a parent of young children. Yeah, Marlin is an awesome single dad for Nemo, but does anyone remember the mama fish who died protecting her unborn children?!