Lit Lawvers discussion

note: This topic has been closed to new comments.
Archives > Book #2 Nominations

Comments Showing 1-22 of 22 (22 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Kaitlin (new)

Kaitlin (krj86) Water for Elephants-Gruen
Middlesex-Eugenides
The Historian-Kostova
In Defense of Food-Pollan
The Hour I First Believed-Lamb
The Help-Stockett
1984-Orwell
The Memory Keeper's Daughter-Edwards
Fahrenheit 451-Bradford

message 2: by Jamie (new)

Jamie (ahealthyjd) Kaitlin wrote: "Water for Elephants-Gruen
Middlesex-Eugenides
The Historian-Kostova
In Defense of Food-Pollan
The Hour I First Believed-Lamb
The Help-Stockett
1984-Orwell
The Memory Keeper's Daughter-Edward..."

I've read a fair share of these books but would love to join in the discussion (I'm studying for the Bar and it would cut down my reading load).

1. I will forewarn that The Historian is a very long book and would probably take people more than 3 weeks to finish.
2. The Help is amazing and I would love if this book is chosen for the discussion aspect alone.
3. Water for Elephants was amazing as well, I'd add Ape House here too because it's just as good and it's more current
4. I've wanted to read In Defense of Food so I'd love to see this one as well
5. The Memory Keeper's Daughter - haven't read, own it would love to read it!

My own recommendation would be Little Bee. I've read it recently but its an intensely beautiful and powerful novel with a side of African political history to boot.

message 3: by Becki (new)

Becki (beckalina) | 73 comments I have kind of an odd taste in books. And I don't read much fiction. But here are a few:

*1984 - Orwell (I second Kaitlin's nom)
*The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind: Creating Currents of Electricity and Hope - William Kamkwamba
*Blink - Malcolm Gladwell
*Atlas Shrugged - Ayn Rand
*The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time - Mark Haddon

message 4: by JudgyK (new)