Writerpedia discussion

on publishing > Copyright on Ebooks?

Comments Showing 1-4 of 4 (4 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Christoffer (new)

Christoffer Solheim (solheim) I'm an amateur writer and from what I gather, getting backed by an actual publishing company is one of the hardest things you can do. While I do not fear rejection, because what's the worst that can happen? I go back to where I was previously. Big deal.

So I've decided that when I do finish my novel I've been slowly plotting and writing some time next year, I plan on going the self-publication route. Preferably by selling it independently as an e-book.

But what if someone steals my work? Lets assume for the sake of argument that I write a novel that is the best novel you've ever read. I release it as an e-book, someone finds my gem and submits it to a publishing company under their name, and now they're making bank off my work.

How do I acquire a copyright on my e-book to prevent potential thieves from making a fortune off my work?

Don't get me wrong, I do not believe I am good enough to be a best-seller anytime soon, or ever for that matter, but I'd rather not have someone steal my work regardless of how good or bad it is.

message 2: by Mark (last edited Dec 22, 2010 02:28PM) (new)

Mark Johansen | 24 comments There's a common misconception that you have to "apply" for a copyright. This is not true. Everything you write is automatically copyrighted the instant you write it. So you do not have to worry about somehow "acquiring" a copyright on your ebook. If you wrote it, you own a copyright on it.