Irish Lit & Times discussion

The Road, by Cormac McCarthy

Comments Showing 1-8 of 8 (8 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Ruth (last edited Aug 25, 2016 12:35PM) (new)

Ruth (ruthdeb) | 4 comments Ok, so my sister loaned this to me this past weekend, and I'm going to start it this coming Sunday, 23 Sept 07 (once I finish one or two of the others I'm in the middle of).

Anybody else interested? I've heard good things about this one. Pullitzer, huh?.. Can't be all bad ;-)

Ruth
Bucks County, PA

message 2: by Michael (last edited Aug 25, 2016 12:35PM) (new)

Michael (michael_harmon) | 13 comments Mod
I'm up for it. :)

message 3: by Michael (last edited Aug 25, 2016 12:39PM) (new)

OK, so I've already started. :)

Ruth, how did you envision this going forth?

message 4: by Ruth (last edited Aug 25, 2016 12:40PM) (new)

Ruth (ruthdeb) | 4 comments Well, I've never done an online book club before, so I guess I'll just post a note here every 100 pages or so and talk about what I liked so far, what I didn't like, and what I didn't understand.

That's usually enough to get a conversation started.

message 5: by Michael (last edited Aug 25, 2016 12:40PM) (new)

Sounds good to me. I somehow ended up writing my reviews in chunks, so we'll do that. :)

A first question to keep in mind: what think ye of the initial style?

message 6: by Ruth (last edited Aug 25, 2016 12:41PM) (new)

Ruth (ruthdeb) | 4 comments OK, initial thoughts so far, I'm on page 70-something.

RE: narrative voice -- It's actually a little bit *hard* to read -- my mind needs VERBS in its sentences! It's jarring. I don't exactly dislike it, but it strangely takes me longer to read these short sentences than long ones. This is the type of writing I would have unwittingly "corrected" in my college editing class. (oops) I guess the style is kind of like note-taking. Like you were writing journal entries quickly, and didn't have time for complete sentences.