Amazon Kindle discussion

Potential K3 problem

Comments Showing 1-6 of 6 (6 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Cindy (new)

Cindy (newtomato) It sounds like either your Kindle is still indexing all those books, or one of the books is wonky. Indexing runs down the battery very fast.

Have you checked to see if it's still indexing?

message 2: by Cindy (new)

Cindy (newtomato) Yes, that's right. Also, what firmware is installed? (home>menu>settings> in the bottom right corner.)

You know, my Kindle restarts on it's own every once in a while - it's quite random, but rare.

Maybe the battery running down was that it was still indexing? And the restart was one of those random moments, or the firmware updating?

I'm no expert, but I'd suggest waiting a few days - use it like normal and see if it keeps acting up?

message 3: by Cindy (new)

Cindy (newtomato) I hope so, too!

message 4: by Karen (new)

Karen | 60 comments I suggest turning off the Kindle when you aren't going to be reading for a while. Slide the switch on the bottom till you get a screensaver, then slide again and hold for 7 seconds

Ralph Gallagher | 327 comments Mod
Karen wrote: "I suggest turning off the Kindle when you aren't going to be reading for a while. Slide the switch on the bottom till you get a screensaver, then slide again and hold for 7 seconds"

Amazon recommends against this, actually. All you need to do is slide the switch once until you get the screen saver. When WiFi/3G is off, the Kindle only uses battery power when the screen changes.

message 6: by Connie (new)