Love Inspired Books discussion

Author Interviews > Meet author Charlotte Carter!

Comments Showing 1-2 of 2 (2 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Love Inspired (new)

Love Inspired Books (loveinspiredbooks) | 1035 comments Mod
Montana Hearts by Charlotte Carter

1. What’s your sale story? How did you end up selling to Love Inspired?

I’ve authored more than 50 books, most of them for various Harlequin lines under several pseudonyms. In addition, I’ve authored 10 cozy mysteries and continuities for Guideposts Books, an inspirational publisher. My agent felt my voice would fit Love Inspired, and she encouraged me to submit a proposal.

2. How long have you been writing?

I made my first sale on July 19, 1991. (Yes, I’m that old!) I had been writing for four years and had completed a full dozen manuscripts, half of them historicals. So you can see I was an ‘overnight’ success.

3. How many books did you write before selling to Love Inspired?

Despite my long writing history, I submitted one proposal to Love Inspired that was rejected, Fortunately, Emily Rodmell liked my second proposal, Montana Hearts. As many of you probably know, no matter how many books you’ve written, no sale is a sure thing and rejection is a part of every author’s life.

4. What’s the best piece of writing advice you received in helping sell your first book?

I’m not sure it was anyone’s advice that made that first sale, although I certainly received a lot of help and support from the members of Orange County Chapter of Romance Writers of America. What I did, however, may be the key: after those dozen books were rejected by every editor in New York City, I decided I’d have fun writing the next book. I think it showed and that’s why The Villain’s Lady sold to Harlequin American.

5. What’s something you wish you’d known when you started your writing
journey?