A Discussion With Bestselling Author Tom Franklin discussion

Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter -- The Title

Comments Showing 1-9 of 9 (9 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Tom (new)

Tom Franklin | 10 comments Mod
Dear Readers, After setting my previous short stories and novels in Alabama, I decided to move this new novel to Mississippi because I loved the title “Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter”—a mnemonic device used in schools in the south to teach kids how to spell MISSISSIPPI. I thought it sounded like a great Elmore Leonard novel, what do you think? Thanks, T.

message 2: by robert (new)

robert | 1 comments I certainly look forward to reading the new novel. As a native Mississippian, Ole Miss English major grad, and lover of your novel Hell at the Breech, I am happy to see you here for discussion. Best wishes and cheers.

message 3: by Garry (new)

Garry | 1 comments I am a newbie to your work. I heard your interview on NPR and was intrigue. I liked the slow and incremental way you built your story and your characters and how your story was, at once, ALL about race and NOT about race.

message 4: by James (new)

James | 1 comments I love the title because it sets a strong tone with its repetition and ominous tone. When the reader learns where it comes from (if he/she doesn't already know), it just further sets the tone in terms of the dealing with childhood and learning and Mississippi.

message 5: by Tom (new)