Pittsburgh Goodreaders discussion

Hello Pittsburgh readers!

Comments Showing 1-14 of 14 (14 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Lindsay (new)

Lindsay (lindsay_edmunds) | 28 comments I just joined Goodreads and was happy to find this group almost at once.

By coincidence, I blogged about the Allegheny County Library Association only 2 weeks ago:
http://tinyurl.com/2dracbe

message 2: by Erin (new)

Erin (ersiku) | 21 comments Welcome to Goodreads and to the Pittsburgh group! I just read your blog post. I can't believe someone said that about library books!

message 3: by Brad (new)

Brad | 1 comments Welcome to the group! I just read your blog posting and wanted to say that I thought it was very good. The writing was clear and moved well but the reason I felt compelled to compliment you was because of the ideas. As a librarian myself (though in an academic setting and not public) I, perhaps especially, appreciate it.

message 4: by Paul (new)

Paul (psinderson) | 43 comments Good to have you with us, Lindsay! I've sort of "rediscovered" the library and now wonder how I managed without it. I like your blog, too. I always love reading local writers.

message 5: by Lindsay (new)

Lindsay (lindsay_edmunds) | 28 comments I have liked libraries ever since I was a little girl. When I found out I could join the ACLA even though I don't live in Allegheny County, I thought, what generous things libraries are. Even in the hard times they must deal with now.

message 6: by Paul (new)

Paul (psinderson) | 43 comments Here's something even better - I read a lot of my books on the B&N Nook. When I first got it, ACLA had very few e-books and none that could be downloaded to the nook. So I discovered the Philadelphia Free Library which has more than 1,500 downloadable books. Anyone who has a library card with the "Access PA" sticker can join for free. I guess that means that any "Access PA" library can be used by any PA resident. Now THAT'S generous!