Fans of Norah Lofts discussion

Haunting of Gad's > Mrs. Thorley and Lavinia

Comments Showing 1-34 of 34 (34 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Peggy (last edited Oct 17, 2010 12:02PM) (new)

Peggy (peggy908) | 936 comments I'm doing a re-read of Gad's Hall and the Haunting of Gad's Hall. I don't have any children so I'm not an expert on motherhood, but does anyone think it is peculiar that Mrs. Thorley was easily persuaded to let Lavinia visit the Fremlins, even staying overnight almost immediately. I was struck by Mrs. Fremlin saying that her son knew Lavinia had great talent just by talking to her. That sent up a red flag to me--art is so visual and unless you had seen someone's work, how could you pick up on this?

There seemed to be little interest from Lavinia's family on her artwork--the time she drops her portfolio and Mrs. Thorley sees odd pictures, Lavinia tells her they were Mrs. Fremlin's pictures and she buys that, no more questions.

Mrs. Thorley always seemed such a responsible and resourceful person once she was on her own (after her husband's suicide) and when she married George Thorley. I felt that she was not an overly intrusive mother which is a good thing, but also that she dropped the ball on Lavinia since it is repeated several times how immature and shy Lavinia was. Young people can sometimes be manipulated so easily.

I imagine in today's society that Lavinia would have fit in with what is called the Goths, although I do know that Goths don't necessarily believe in witchraft. Do you think Mrs. Fremlin was a part of the corruption of Lavinia or just acting as her son's shill to bring Lavinia into their home?

Peggy

message 2: by Sallie (new)