SciFi and Fantasy eBook Club discussion

note: This topic has been closed to new comments.
General Topics > Could you recommend some books?

Comments Showing 1-46 of 46 (46 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by [deleted user] (new)

I just bought a kindle and I would like to read some science fictions both for entertainment and to improve my English. So would you please recommend some books are both interesting and written in a plain English?

Thanks a lot!

message 2: by Al (new)

Al Take a look at Distant Cousin. It's sci-fi "lite," but it's written in clear, simple English (except for a few idioms). I used to be an EFL professor. If you like it there are more in the series.

message 3: by [deleted user] (new)

Try Earth Abides by George R. Stewart. It's a wonderful book written about 60 years ago but definitely holds up over the years. It's a wonderful classic post-apocalyptic novel.

message 4: by Charles (new)

Charles (nogdog) There are a lot of good and free sci-fi books at the Baen Free Library David Drake's Lt. Leary Commanding and With the Lightnings are good "space opera" reads generally written in non-complex English.

message 5: by [deleted user] (new)

Thank you for your kind help!

message 6: by Felipe (new)

Felipe I would recommend Richard Morgan's books. Start with Altered Carbon,Broken Angels, Woken Furies, Thirdteen. He also wrote Market Forces which is a bit slow compared to the others and Steel Remains which is his first Fantasy book.

message 7: by Robin (new)

Robin (robinsullivan) | 9 comments I know a lot of the Star Wars books are available for free on the Kindle I think I downloaded #1 - #4 - you might want to check them out.

message 8: by stormhawk (new)

stormhawk | 75 comments Go to amazon and check the top 100 free ... or browse Kindle Science Fiction, and sort by price lowest to highest.

There are a number of older or out-of-copyright early SF books that you get either free or just for $1-3.