Axis Mundi X discussion

I Heart Classical Music

Comments Showing 1-50 of 111 (111 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1 3

message 1: by RandomAnthony (last edited Jul 14, 2008 06:57AM) (new)

RandomAnthony I love classical music. I'm not an expert by any means, and I don't listen to classical music exclusively, but goddamn I love classical music.

I particularly love Copland, Chopin, Bach, Beethoven, Part, and a bunch of others I'm sure I'm forgetting. Oh, Sibelius. Forgot him. And I'm sure a ton of others.

When I lived in Chicago my wife and I had a subscription to the Chicago Symphony Orchestra. We had the cheapest tickets in the house, eight bucks a piece, waaaaaay on the top of Orchestral Hall. But live classical music is magical. And I miss it like crazy.

I listen to classical music a lot in the winter, it seems...nothing as awesome as lighting a candle in midwinter, turning off the lights, and listening to something like Brahms' German Requiem.

Anyone else like classical music? What do you like? Any recommendations?

message 2: by Kelly (last edited Jul 14, 2008 09:12AM) (new)

Kelly I also love classical music, RA. I don't claim to know /that/ much about it. I just know what I like and I don't like, and I can appreciate good construction and a good crafting of a theme as well as anyone. the SO was actually in orchestras for several years, and he's expanding my horizons and helping me to appreciate it in a more educated way, but that's a slow process.

I love Chopin as well! He's one of my favorite composers. I'm partial to emotional piano and violin solos, so his Nocturne series is definitely on frequent rotation at my house. Joshua Bell's violin adaptation of the Nocturne in C Minor is sex on a stick. Seriously, listen to it, its /damn/ hot. I also recommend Jean-Yves Thiabaudet's "Chopin I Love," for some beautifully delicate interpretations.