Q&A with Deborah Brodie discussion

Inspiration

Comments Showing 1-15 of 15 (15 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Deborah (new)

Deborah Patrick (pristine) | 8 comments Mod
One way or another we are all inspired by something or someone. As a writer I find I am easily inspired by the changing seasons of my life, and my surroundings.

As fellow authors I ask you to share where, what, who inspires you?

As readers, what inspires you?

message 2: by John (new)

John Hester | 1 comments I have been giving this some thought. As a writer of supernatural thrillers as well as spiritual non fiction I have to say that most of my inspiration comes from what others have written. I read the New York Times Book Review and get some ideas that way. I also find inspiration in the life stories of those I meet on a daily basis. My life is too boring to draw any inspiration there. Although one book I am presently writing has to do with how I dealt with negative events that took place in my life over the last year and a half.

message 3: by Deborah (new)

Great hearing from you John! How is your book coming along?

It's interesting that you found a creative outlet (inspiration) through adversity. I also find I tend to write more during the valleys in my life, than the mountaintop experiences.

While I do draw inspiration from locations, and surroundings, I think it is more a matter of getting away; out of the ordinary stressful environments we learn to thrive in, to a more condusive environment where we can hear our creative voice and take the time to be introspective.

message 4: by Kira4Inu (new)

Kira4Inu Kira4Inu For me, I find inspiration in my dreams. Dreams being my dreams for the future as well as the worlds that I walk through in my sleep. I find that I get the most inspiration from realizing that my dream is that much closer. Strange right?

message 5: by Deborah (new)