Small and Independent Press Books discussion

Resources for writers > The American Imagination Idol

Comments Showing 1-2 of 2 (2 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by James (new)

James | 1 comments Hi Gang,

I am an independent author and publisher, and I have an idea I want to toss out to those who might be interested in working on with me, either as a publisher/sponsor or as an author/judge.

Awhile back, I was blogging about this idea, and I decided to start brainstorming. Here's what I came up with:

I was wondering if you would like to co-sponsor a little enterprise I'm going to put together that would combine the artistry of fiction writers with the presentation and dramatic powers of a live presentation, similar to the famous New York Symphony Series "The American Short Story," where actors read fiction by authors.

In others words, I see this contest as a combination of American Shorts and American Idol.

I am willing to put up half the winners' money, but I wanted to see if you would want to add something in the way of sponsorship.

I can use a unique software program on my private web site to hold the "awards presentation." This software is called DimDim, and it allows one to have meetings with up to 500 people, and the presenters can broadcast video and audio, as well as use Powerpoint slides and a white board. I have integrated this program already into my college online classes, and it works really well. The video is nice and the audio is clear, but we will certainly test it before the actual award presentations.

The program itself would include the judging of short fiction in the blind (author's names and identities would be removed), in order to ensure complete fairness. We could have categories of story such as flash, short-short, and short story.

The judging would be done by professional authors whose decision would be final.