Nothing But Reading Challenges discussion

Chat Room > Organizing Goodreads Bookshelves

Comments Showing 1-50 of 80 (80 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1

message 1: by Sashana (new)

Sashana Hey guys, today I started organizing my book shelves here on goodreads. I’m not very good at this kind of thing so feel free to throw some tips at me. So far I’ve made a ‘Library Request’ shelf. I’m looking at all of my ‘to-read’ books and seeing if they are available at my library via the online library catalog system. It’s going to take a while, but it’ll make my life easier in the long run.
How do you guys organize your book shelves?

message 2: by Sans (new)

Sans I'm always updating and changing my GR shelves. I decided today to add a "1st in series" shelf.

Since most of the books I read are smutty romances, I decided to divide them up by sub-genre: historical, paranormal, sci-fi & fantasy, etc. I also have a non-fiction shelf for all my history, biography and science books. I've got my "find a copy wishlist" shelf and a shelf dedicated to books I already own or have pre-ordered and one for books that are related to Scotland in some way.

I divided my library books into three shelves: library read, library on hold and library to read. Makes it easier to keep track which ones I've already gotten.

I'm thinking about doing a "connected or in a series" shelf but I'm not sure about that yet.

There's a lot of crossover in my shelves but I'm happy with them. No matter what "mood" I'm in, I can find what I want quickly.

message 3: by Ingrid (new)

Ingrid  (initch) The Library request shelf is a good idea. I have a shelf that is books that friends have on their shelves that I want to read. I think I may divide up my to read shelf to be things I want to read immediately and things I'll read in due course.

message 4: by Sashana (new)

Sashana Thanks Ingrid and Sans.

Ingrid, I may make a shelf for the books that I can potentially borrow from my friends. Thanks for the idea.