The Next Best Book Club discussion

Newbies Corner > New to the group

Comments Showing 1-41 of 41 (41 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Beth (new)

Beth (goofyteacher) | 63 comments Hi, my name is Beth and I am new to goodreads and this discussion group. I am a high school English teacher looking for a suggestions beyond the classics and what fifteen year olds are reading. I love to read but have little time. Even though it is the summer and I am off, I have three little ones that keep me occupied. So it takes me a little longer to get through a book.

I love fiction and drama. The only genres I stay away from are scifi and romance (including chic lit). I am a Harry Potter superfan, again I teach fifteen year olds. I would love to start reading more nonfiction, especially historical nonfiction.

PS I love how many people in this group dislike Lord of the Flies. The hardest part of my job is getting the enthusiasm to teach that novel every year.

message 2: by Lori, Super Mod (new)

Lori (tnbbc) | 10125 comments Mod
Hey Beth! I am really glad you decided to join the group!

Im shocked you dont like Lord of the Flies... perhaps if, before you taught the kids, you asked how many were Lost Fans... and then explain to them that its closely linked to the show .. they might find it more interesting? I hated being forced to read books in school, cause I felt no real connection to any of them. But I am slowly rebuying them all to give them a fresh new start... LOTF and Catcher in the Rye were the only two I actually liked reading in school!

One thing I want to point out about this site, you will NEVER be short of recommendations for something new to read! I have found so many great novels just from reading what people are writing about them in here.

Prepare to become addicted to goodreads.. you are about to become very intimate with your to-read folder, and to-buy folder!!!

message 3: by Beth (new)