The Mystery, Crime, and Thriller Group discussion

Report for Duty > Hi, I'm New

Comments Showing 1-15 of 15 (15 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Linda (new)

Linda Prather | 16 comments Just wanted to introduce myself. I am an author, but that's not the reason I joined this group. I am seriously behind in my reading, and hope by joining I'll get back to doing what I love most, reading, writing and discussing mysteries. At the present moment I'm in the market for a new book to read, so any suggestions you can give would be greatly appreciated. I love true mysteries that keep me guessing, and have a complex and well developed plot and characters. I like James Patterson, but have not tried his new stuff. I used to read Patricia Cornwell, but the last book I tried I just couldn't get through it. Love Kay Hooper, some of Dean Koontz, but I'm really looking for someone new that I haven't tried.

Hope to get a chance to talk with everyone and discuss some great books.

message 2: by Hayes, Co-Moderator (new)

Hayes (hayes13) | 2060 comments Mod
Hi Linda. Welcome! Lots of recommendations here, so just wander through the threads. Take a look at the past polls for group reads too, which is where I get most of the books on my overflowing TBR.

Don't forget the Author's Corner if you want to talk about your books, or list promotions etc.

message 3: by Donna, Co-Moderator (new)

Donna | 2178 comments Mod
Glad to have you with us. As for recommendations, they come fast and furious here as my TBR list can attest to!

message 4: by Carol/Bonadie (new)

Carol/Bonadie (bonadie) | 444 comments Hi Linda, Carol from Boston here. Welcome! You will find your TBR exploding as you wander around the excellent threads here.

Have you read any Elizabeth George or P.D. James? When you talk about real mysteries with complex plots and well developed characters, those two come to mind immediately.