On Reading Graphic Novels discussion

Tell me a little about yourself...

Comments Showing 1-23 of 23 (23 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Hilary (new)

Hilary McLean (hilarymclean6) | 1 comments Hi! I am a new member with this group but I have been with Goodreads for a year. I have been falling under the spell of Graphic Novels for some time and found myself correcting my mother in law the other day that graphic novels were not comic books. That was when I decided I should check out like minded folks on my fave book discussion site.

I am an avid reader and writer with one published book to my name; Fifth Sun: The Awakening. (www.fifthsun.ca) I live in Calgary, Canada with my better half, our children and too many household pets. By day, I'm a homeschooling mum; by night I try to escape into various fantasy worlds including those of my own imagination.

Current Fav's in the Graphic Novel department are Stan Sakai's Usagi and I just finished reading Naussica (Intense!) I read the Bone series with my kids and enjoyed it thoroughly. My husband, a big fan of the DC Universe and anything Green Lantern, introduced me to this wonderful world too many years ago.

I'm probably one of the few mum's around that encourages her kids to read "comic books".

And what about you??

message 2: by Petabyte (new)

Petabyte | 9 comments I'm just a guy who loves graphic novels, and who happens to live close to a public library - one that has a comprehensive collection of graphic novels! Hi(:

Who else is here?

message 3: by Niki (new)

Niki Smith (nikismith) | 1 comments I've read indie comics/manga/graphic novels my whole life (never much was one for the superheroes, though), and am now working on my own digital title. :) http://InMapsAndLegendsComic.com/

I like a lot of quieter titles, and am a sucker for a unique art style.

message 4: by Dean (new)