Terminalcoffee discussion

Rants / Debates (Serious) > Know any good "green" buildings?

Comments Showing 1-13 of 13 (13 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by RandomAnthony (new)

RandomAnthony | 14536 comments Are any "green" buildings around you?

NPR has an article today about the "green" influence on real estate...

http://www.npr.org/templates/story/st...

What do you think? Even in our small town you see a lot of solar panels, esp. on churches, for some reason. I've never seen one of those grass roofs, though. I want to check one of those out.

message 2: by Jim (new)

Jim | 6485 comments Since I work in the construction industry, I know of quite a few green buildings in the Madison area, some are quite in depth in their desire to be "green". I really like the idea of solar powered parking lots(roads) that is being discussed in another group. It would almost seem like a no brainer for parking lots if they could make them with enough traction.

message 3: by Sarah (new)

Sarah | 13815 comments My alma mater built a green Athenaeum last year to be the new center of campus. It's pretty cool looking. I've seen pictures, and the outside, but haven't been in since it was still under construction.

# he exterior of the library is constructed using high-performance glass, allowing daylight in and providing expansive views while reducing the amount of heat gain in the building.
# Green roofs are employed in two places to further reduce heat gain and alleviate stormwater runoff.
# Recycled building materials were used throughout the building, including construction materials, carpeting, and previously used furniture.
# Additionally, 50 percent of all construction debris was recycled.
# Low volatile organic compound (VOC) adhesives and sealants were used throughout the building’s interior.
# LED and fluorescent lighting are used inside the building to reduce electricity use.