Special Educators discussion

Who do you teach?

Comments Showing 1-22 of 22 (22 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Renee (last edited Aug 25, 2016 12:27PM) (new)

Renee | 10 comments Mod
I am an Itinerant Early Intervention Special Education teacher in Pennsylvania. I work with 3 to 5 year olds in their preschool program. I've been working with this population for about 8 years. I'm always looking for books that will hold a child's interest and motivate them to explore their environment.

message 2: by Amy (new)

Amy (ldtchr) | 10 comments I work with students with learning disabilities in grades 1-12 in Michigan. I have worked with this population also for about 8 years and taught reg ed for a few years before that. I love my work now though - never a boring day!! :)

I teach history using novels and have a few language labs for reading/writing/speaking, etc.... I also have two daughters who are 4 and 6 and my 6 year old is now a super reader, but struggles with sensory integration and auditory processing. I will "quiz" them tomorrow about some of their faves and check out their shelves.

message 3: by Renee (last edited Feb 24, 2008 05:18PM) (new)

Renee | 10 comments Mod
Welcome Ldtchr!

I apologize for the delay! I am very excited to meet you!

message 4: by Wendy (new)

Wendy (wednesdayorleans) My background is in Early Childhood (mostly PreK), but I am currently working with an 8 year old boy who has Cerebral Palsy and has been diagnosed PDD. My title is Habilitation Technician, but I will soon be employed with the Autism Society of NC as a Community Skills Instructor with the same boy.

The Special Needs area is new to me, but I am planning on returning to college for a certificate in it. I would like to get more into Early Intervention, and having a daughter that was 11 weeks premature got me interested. Any advice for me would be greatly appreciated!!