I'm Trying to Get a Book Published! discussion

Advice/Questions > Writing help

Comments Showing 1-5 of 5 (5 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Alicia (new)

Alicia Hi Everyone. I am a fairly young author who hasn't been successful in progressing to actually write and finish a full length novel that I dream to publish in over 9 years. I started writing my novel since I was about 14. And as much as I have my ideas of what I want to have happen in my novels, I cannot ever seem to write them properly in paragraph formats they are all in raw notes and ideas. I have been searching for years for help or if anyone would want to work with me on them but that too was a failure, what else could I do to get the help I need?

message 2: by Victoria (new)

Victoria Dixon (ronempressblogspotcom) | 12 comments 1. Keep writing. It's the best, most practical way to learn. 2. Don't get discouraged. It takes YEARS, even decades to perfect skill to a publishable level. There isn't an artist of any discipline who gets his/her work to the vision they had. You need to know where you and your editors will be satisfied. 3. I recommend you read a copy of Strunk & White's "Elements of Style." You have several run on sentences above. I know you're not writing to suit an editor here, but this is a public forum. That means putting your most professional writing out for the public to read. Good luck! You're already well on your way.

message 3: by Russell (new)

Russell Henley | 4 comments Alicia, I wrote my first novel more as a narrative, imagining in my head the voice as it read. When action took place, I wrote it as a movie, not in script, but with the imagery of screen presentation. Tell the story, don't write it. Russ

message 4: by Rita (new)