Art Lovers discussion

Picture of the Day > September Favorite Picture

Comments Showing 1-28 of 28 (28 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Dvora (last edited Sep 14, 2010 10:27AM) (new)

Dvora There is nothing eerie or particularly unusual about an artist copying the work of another artist. Copying was (maybe still is) one standard technique of study. I am just now reading about Van Gogh's art education and it seems that he was almost entirely self-taught with some visits to studios of artists who he met and became friends with to round it out. He did not attend an art school (at least not yet in my reading). He began to study art when he was about 26 years old.
Jim wrote: "I never had any idea that van Gogh copied anybody but the website certainly shows how much he did copy Millet - it's kind of eerie"

message 2: by Antje (new)

Antje (mrsmahoney)

message 3: by Antje (new)

Antje (mrsmahoney) Oh my God, I really managed to pst a picture! Thanks to Heather and Monica. This one is by Andy Goldsworthy and is pure autumn feeling for me.

message 4: by Ruth (new)

Ruth | 1943 comments I love the work of Andy Goldsworthy. Pure magic.

message 5: by Ruth (new)

Ruth | 1943 comments
Michael McMillen
Lighthouse (Hotel New Empire), 2010
mixed media with artist digital motion picture
97 x 132 x 144 in. (246.4 x 335.3 x 365.8 cm)

At LA Louver Gallery right now. I'm hoping to get up to the show.

message 6: by Monica (new)

Monica | 909 comments art lovers love visuals!

message 7: by Monica (new)

Monica | 909 comments Can't make it out. It looks like Cornell to me.

message 8: by Ruth (last edited Sep 15, 2010 05:59PM) (new)

Ruth | 1943 comments Michael McMillen does small sculptures and installations. None of the preciousness of Cornell. More like the Keinholzes if anything. Here's a link to some of his work.

http://www.lalouver.com/html/mcmillen...