Love Inspired Historicals discussion

Musings for Labor Day - Your Favorite Job

Comments Showing 1-13 of 13 (13 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by JanetTronstad (new)

JanetTronstad Author Tronstad | 2759 comments Mod
I thought we might begin our Labor Day celebration by thinking about our favorite jobs. Feel free to list yours and tell us why you liked the job.

And a Note from History -- Labour Day or Labor Day is an annual holiday to celebrate the economic and social achievements of workers. Labour Day has its origins in the labour union movement, specifically the eight-hour day movement, which advocated eight hours for work, eight hours for recreation, and eight hours for rest.

message 2: by Jeanne (new)

Jeanne (foggyone) | 5 comments I think there are parts of jobs that are my favorite things, rather than one job being my favorite. I am currently a public librarian. If I didn't enjoy it, I don't think I'd be doing it. However, with this, and all jobs I've held, there are specific aspects I like:

Librarian -- Helping someone find exactly what he or she wants (even if he or she is not sure what that is).

Substitute teacher -- working one on one with students and see them "get it".

Car rental agent -- getting paid to do nothing but drive when someone needed something (more minivans, for example) at a different office.

McDonald's grill worker -- talking and laughing with my coworkers (and realizing that the entire place was being run by a bunch of under-18s).

message 3: by Victoria (new)

Victoria Bylin (victoriabylin) | 198 comments My favorite job is writing books!

My second favorite job was working for an ophthalmologist doing front desk. I did it for nine years. The doctor had been in practice a long time and had many established patients, all very nice people. The thing with eye trouble is that patients can really be helped, either with meds or glasses. I enjoyed it.

message 4: by Jennifer (new)