Reading the Chunksters discussion

The Stand
This topic is about The Stand
Archived 2010 Group Reads > The Stand 01: Chapters 1-6

Comments Showing 1-42 of 42 (42 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

Kristi (kristicoleman) Woo Hoo...it's the 22nd!! Time to get this party started. What are your thoughts on these chapters??

Trisha This is my first time reading this and I am pretty excited. I vaugely remember watching the mini-series years and years ago. I have made it up to Chapter 4, definitely an easy read with short chapters, but so many characters are being introduced rather quickly. I am guessing that they are not major characters though since they are all getting sick. We will see what happens in the next two chapters!

Nathalie (natjen29) So far so good. This is a third read for me, but still it feels like a first time going through. I'm definitely not rushing through and savouring every detail.

Many characters are being introduced, but you can fairly easily tell which ones are keepers and which are goners.
I like the fact that you know something has happened, something devastating as a 99,4% infectious lethal disease and you still get carried away with Frannie or Larry. The depth in which he delves his characters is truly the backbone of this novel.

Trisha I agree Nath, anyone who so much as sniffles I have immediately written off as a goner. Ha! King does have a tendency to give a lot of background info, even for his characters that are not going to live through the chapter, but it does help to build up the main characters. Frannie has made it to two different chapters, so I am figuring that she is going to be one of the survivors. On to the next few chapters...

Lyn (Readinghearts) (lsmeadows) I have to say, Stephen King scares me (and not in the horror writer sense). I have avoided his books ever since I read Salem's Lot and got majorly creeped out. So, I am afraid this books will get to scary, but so far so good.