Challenge: 50 Books discussion

Finish Line 2011 > Alanna's 50 beginning Aug 2010

Comments Showing 1-35 of 35 (35 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Alanna (new)

Alanna | 84 comments I'm an English student and I often get distracted by my school books during the year and don't read for pleasure. I challenge myself to read 50 books this year, ending Aug 2011. I am going to include the novels that I read for my classes though!

message 2: by Alanna (last edited Dec 13, 2010 05:28PM) (new)

Alanna | 84 comments Alright, so here it goes!

1) The City of Ember by Jeanne DuPrau

This book was recommended to me a couple of years ago and I only just now got around to reading it. I love dystopian novels and am finding that there are some really great books in the 9 - 12 age group.

message 3: by Alanna (last edited Dec 13, 2010 05:29PM) (new)

Alanna | 84 comments 2) The People of Sparks by Jeanne DuPrau

The People of Sparks is the sequel to The City of Ember. It follows the characters as they attempt to assimilate to the new culture they find themeslves thrown into. Another great book!

I definitely plan to finish the next two books in the series but I'm going to leave that for later.

message 4: by Alanna (last edited Dec 13, 2010 05:30PM) (new)

Alanna | 84 comments 3) Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

I read Jane Eyre for the first time in my early teens. I'm going to be reading it for two of my English classes this year, so I re-read it now. I'm unsure of how I feel about this book, I enjoyed reading it but Jane isn't my favorite of literary heroines. It should be interesting to hear what my professors have to say about it.

message 5: by Alanna (last edited Dec 13, 2010 05:31PM) (new)

Alanna | 84 comments 4) The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Steig Larsson

I read this book in July, but I'm adding it simply because I finished reading the series this month and it only seems right to include the entire trilogy.