Martial Arts Fiction discussion

What inspires you in the martial arts?

Comments Showing 1-10 of 10 (10 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Charmaigne (new)

Charmaigne | 8 comments I have a lot of ideas running around in my head and would love to be able to write a book, but can't seem to get it all down on paper and tie the ends together neatly!! For me the interesting thing in the martial arts is testing oneself, seeing where your limits lie, and discovering things about yourself that you didn't know existed.
Oh, and Ninjas, of course!! LOL

message 2: by Bert (new)

Bert Edens (bedens) | 11 comments Ninjas? Naw, ninjas are overrated. :)

Like Charmaigne, I love the challenges. To see what I can accomplish that I previously didn't believe I could. Since becoming a martial artist, I have won national championships (in board breaking), learned to do a front flip without a trampoline and even firewalked.

As an instructor, I also love seeing progress in my students, seeing that light go on when they finally get a kata or a technique. Priceless.

message 3: by tinabot (new)

tinabot | 18 comments I was inspired to get into martial arts because of movies. When I was a kid, I watch "7 lucky ninja kids" and "Young Dragons: Kung Fu Kids" (English names) and was hooked. Then I got hooked onto Jet Li and Jackie Chan films.

I like the physical, mental, and spiritual challenge of martial arts and the beauty of the movements, but really, I'm not a good martial artist at all. I'm inflexible and can't jump very high. I think that's why I enjoy writing martial arts fiction--I can do awesome kung fu things vicariously through the characters I create ^O^ lol

message 4: by Goran (new)

Goran Powell (goranpowell) | 31 comments Mod