The Next Best Book Club discussion

Newbies Corner > New member - Amanda

Comments Showing 1-10 of 10 (10 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Amanda (new)

Amanda Hi Everybody! I joined Goodreads a few months back after being hounded by a few friends and my mother in law. I'm slowly learning about all of GRs different features and stumbled upon this book club. I've been lurking around the last few days to get a feel before I posted.

I am a stay at home mom to 2 toddlers. I am a licensed teacher and worked in social services until moving to Washington last year. My brain needs the stimulation of a job or class and now that I am not doing those things, I have been reading a lot. I am a "one book at a time" girl, but read every night (occasionally during the day if I get really sucked in to a book). For budget reasons, I usually read library books. I work the "hold" shelf there like nobody's business! =)

I started a book club here with a friend of mine and we have 5-6 women that participate each month. I enjoy a wide variety of books but don't read much in the mystery/thriller category, and I also avoid the mass market type bestsellers that are common in grocery stores or pharmacies. (My 90 year old great aunt really thinks I should read Nora Roberts. No thank you.) I enjoy thoughtful, well written fiction, historical fiction, and fictional accounts of real events (like Dave Eggers "What is the What" and "Zeitoun"). I also love discovering excellent books that no one else I know has heard of before. I may actually like that part better than reading (most of the time).

I look forward to reading book suggestions and talking books with all of you!

message 2: by Lori, Super Mod (new)

Lori (tnbbc) | 10060 comments Mod
Hi Amanda! Thanks for checking out the site and deeming it worth sticking around for! We have a lot of fun here!!!

message 3: by Carol (new)