Tips for Self Promotion, Sales, and Advertising discussion

Opinions Wanted > Smashwords

Comments Showing 1-39 of 39 (39 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Tricia (new)

Tricia McDonald (httpwwwgoodreadscomtriciamc) | 19 comments Has anyone had any dealings with Smashwords? I keep hearing about them and wonder if it is worthwhile to sign up.

message 2: by Tricia (new)

Tricia McDonald (httpwwwgoodreadscomtriciamc) | 19 comments Catherine - Thanks for the feedback.

Did you have someone else get your books in "shape" for Smashwords, or did you do it yourself? I printed out the information on how to do it and just that scared me.

I found a guy who said he would do the work to make my book fit their guidelines, but he wanted $300. That seemed excessive.

And I am an American resident, so hopefully it will be easier.

message 3: by Tricia (new)

Tricia McDonald (httpwwwgoodreadscomtriciamc) | 19 comments Great idea about a geeky teenager. I have a geeky nephew that might be interested in attacking this project.

Thanks again.

message 4: by Darcia (new)

Darcia Helle (darciahelle) I love Smashwords! Through them, I was able to get my e-books listed on Sony, B&N, Kobo, and Apple's iPad store. It's like anything else, you still need to do a lot of promoting. But I do love the fact that, unlike Kindle, you can create coupon codes or even give a book away free for a limited time.

J, I'd like to have your Indian deliver me some curry! Seriously, $300 to format your book is ridiculous. The instructions are easy to follow. The first time will take you longer, then you'll quickly become a pro!

message 5: by Julie (new)

Julie | 54 comments I love Smashwords, too. Can't say I've sold much, but I'm still learning how to do marketing. I had no real trouble with formatting, and my only complaint was that the pdb version came out a bit garbled. That's of the dozen or so formats Smashwords creates.

message 6: by Cliff (new)