Young Writers discussion

People Archive > Natasha's Writing

Comments Showing 1-23 of 23 (23 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

Natasha  (ar y ffin) (Natasha_ar_y_ffin) Here is my current novel: http://www.goodreads.com/story/show/230058-wolf-quest I'm only on Chapter 5 and it's taken me about 9 months to get there. The reason: Lots of revisions.

message 2: by Laura (new)

Laura  | 911 comments I read the first chapter! Okay...I have some suggestions/questions:

1) Can dogs/wolves cry? I'm not really an expert in dogs, so just wondering. Maybe you can make me smarter. :)

2) In the first paragraph/second paragraph, you keep using "The wolf," after already giving Tor a name. You should just refer to 'the wolf' as 'Tor' or 'he'.

3) Show, don't tell. (I'm quoting someone here, I don't remember...maybe Mandy? :) ) Instead of writing, "The normally green grass was dry and brown" write "The stiff, dried grass crunched under Tor's paws" or something like that.

4) Try to be more descriptive, please. I tend to get a little lost reading about the bear chase...

5) Add excitement! :D Try creating suspense and fear, maybe by using adjectives and writing what Tor's thinking.

6) You use 'heavy' way too much to describe the bear.

7) Keep up the great dialogue. :D Very realistic and gives a boost to the story!

. . . I'm like a maniacal editor, so no offense or anything it I sound critical, I can't help myself. It really is a good story.

message 3: by Mandy (new)

Mandy  Harmon (mandyharmon) | 10724 comments Dude, you quoted me! At least, I think you did. I don't remember exactly what I said....or if I said it. Haha. Sanka! =)

message 4: by Natasha (ar y ffin) (last edited Jul 28, 2010 11:14AM) (new)

Natasha  (ar y ffin) (Natasha_ar_y_ffin) Here's Chapter Six: http://www.goodreads.com/story/show/2... IT's shortner than what I normally write because i was writing really fast last night.