Loosed in Translation discussion

Vladimir Nabokov
This topic is about Vladimir Nabokov
Recommendations > Vladimir Nabokov

Comments Showing 1-2 of 2 (2 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Kris (last edited Jul 10, 2010 08:55PM) (new)

Kris Kipling (liehtzu) | 8 comments Q: Though born in Russia, you have lived and worked for many years in America as well as in Europe. Do you feel any strong sense of national identity?

A: I am an American writer, born in Russia and educated in England where I studied French literature, before spending fifteen years in Germany. I came to America in 1940 and decided
to become an American citizen, and make America my home. It so happened that I was immediately exposed to the very best in America, to its rich intellectual life and to its easygoing, good-natured atmosphere. I immersed myself in its great libraries and its Grand Canyon. I worked in the laboratories of its zoological museums. I acquired more friends than I ever had in Europe. My books-- old books and new ones-- found some admirable readers. I became as stout as Cortez-- mainly because I quit smoking and started to munch molasses candy instead, with the result that my weight went up from my usual 140 to a monumental and cheerful 200. In consequence, I am one-third American-- good American flesh keeping me warm and safe.

(from an Interview with Playboy)

Remarkably, almost all of the author's wonderful interviews can be found here (scroll down for English):

http://www.kulichki.com/moshkow/NABOKOW/