Mystery Lovers! discussion

222 views
Looking for new reads! > If you like Agatha Christie then you will love...

Comments Showing 1-7 of 7 (7 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Susy! (last edited Aug 25, 2016 12:19PM) (new)

Susy! | 1 comments Anybody have any suggestions??

I am looking for a mystery author to love. I have read several works by Patterson, Grafton, Cornwell, PD James and can't get into any of these......Help?


message 2: by Richard (last edited Aug 25, 2016 12:20PM) (new)

Richard | 3 comments Patricia Wentworth's Miss Silver series.31 books
Ngaio Marsh's Inspector Alleyn...33 books
Ellis Peter's Brother Cadfeal 21 books
M.C. Beaton's Hamish Macbeth 24 books and growing
They are getting harder to find now days.
I found Dorothy Sayers kinda dated...but aren't Agatha's also in a way.


message 3: by Jan (last edited Aug 25, 2016 12:20PM) (new)

Jan (booklover777) | 38 comments Have you tried Carol O'Connell, Ruth Rendell, Steve Hamilton, Alex Kava or Minette Walters? They're all good mystery/suspense/thriller reads. Or in the lighter vein try Carolyn Haines, Gillian Roberts, Joan Hess, or Lyn Hamilton. For historical themes you can't beat Elizabeth Peters (I just love Amelia Peabody), Victoria Thompson or Anne Perry. For something exotic try John Burdett's Bangkok mysteries or David Rotenberg's set in China. All of these authors are on my "watch for new releases" list!


message 4: by Marlene (last edited Aug 25, 2016 12:21PM) (new)

Marlene I really like Mary Higgins Clark and Janet Evanovich.


message 5: by Lawriter (last edited Aug 25, 2016 02:18PM) (new)

Lawriter | 13 comments You'll love Stephen J. Cannell's Three Shirt Deal. LAPD detective Shane Scully must choose between saving his marriage, having an affair with a sexy detective or freeing an innocent man from jail: http://www.threeshirtdeal.com/


message 6: by Katie (new)

Katie McP (katiemcp) | 1 comments Google found this thread for me...thank you all! I can't wait to try some of these.


message 7: by Dfordoom (new)

Dfordoom | 18 comments Other golden age books that should appeal to fans of Christie - Margery Allingham's Campion mysteries, S. S. Van Dine's Philo Vance mysteries, Nicholas Blake's Nigel Strangeways books.


back to top