Tudor History Lovers discussion

Comments Showing 1-50 of 58 (58 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1

message 1: by Meaghan (new)

Meaghan (booklove83) I'm new to goodreads and to this group, so this might have been done already... forgive me if so.

Am I the only person in the world who did not care for Wolf Hall, by Hilary Mantel? I found the writing slow and confusing, and I am not a slow reader. I also found the historical part to be a quite lacking... I was actually confused in parts and had to go look things up in other books! I finished it, but it was a near thing.

Anyone else?

message 2: by [deleted user] (new)

sorry, i've never read. can you tell me what its about plz?

message 3: by Meaghan (new)

Meaghan (booklove83) It's historical fiction and is about Thomas Cromwell and his relationship to Henry VIII. It won the Man Booker prize last year and there was TONS of hype surrounding it but I was not super impressed.

message 4: by [deleted user] (new)

o cool, did the writer basicly drag on a it?

message 5: by Marylou (last edited Jun 02, 2010 02:06PM) (new)

Marylou (loulu) | 164 comments I read Wolf Hall and found it almost impossible to comprehend. I think it was never clear who was talking. I was so excited to begin it but had to force myself to finish it. The book reminded me of the stream of consciousness writing. I will have to read it over keeping in mind all he'e are Cromwell

Susanna - Censored by GoodReads (susannag) | 1956 comments I enjoyed it, though it was certainly not an "easy" read.

If one kept in mind that "he" was almost always Cromwell, it was easier to read.

message 7: by Beth (new)

Beth | 13 comments I agree with you 1000%. It was a book club selection and I forced myself (a Tudor lover) to finish it. I do not understand why it won the Man Booker Prize.

message 8: by Meaghan (new)