Gena Showalter Fans discussion

book talk > Virgin Heroines?!?!

Comments Showing 1-50 of 69 (69 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1

message 1: by Emily (new)

Emily | 2 comments Mod
Virgin Heroines?!?!

I don’t know if anyone else out there was annoyed by the fact that the heroines in Darkest Night & Darkest Kiss were both virgins. Maybe I’m annoyed because I just read Kresley Cole’s A Hunger Like No Other and she was a virgin, too! I’ve only read 3 paranormal romances, so I’m new to the genre. That was 3 out of 3!

But I have to know - is this a reoccurring theme? Should I expect more virgin heroines? If there’s a virgin in Darkest Pleasure, I’ll have to shut this group down out of principle.

Don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against virginity and I love LOTU; it just seemed odd to be in both of the LOTU books.

message 2: by Sayuri_x (last edited Jun 10, 2008 03:28PM) (new)

Sayuri_x Heh!

I noticed too, but I don't think Danika (Reyes heroine) is a virgin.

It's not particulary common. If you want a fantastic paranormal romance with no virgins in sight try Meljean Brook.

I don't mind if they are virgins as long as they act like it. I hate it when they have multiple orgasms on thier first try. It is so not what happens. *lol* My fav treatment of a virgin heroine was in BDB's Lover Revealed cause it was real and honest and a little bit uncomfortable to read.

message 3: by Emily (new)

Emily | 2 comments Mod
I'm so glad I'm not the only one who has noticed. I'm glad to hear it isn't particulary common, because it's very unrealistic. Not that hot demons, goddesses, and mulitple orgasms are realistic, either. Ha ha!

Like I said, I've only read 3 paranormal romances and all 3 heroines were virgins. It was just a little weird.

We'll see about Danika in July. I can't wait.