Every one's Choice discussion

Everything Else > A Good Idea...???

Comments Showing 1-10 of 10 (10 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Donna, The Pusher (new)

Donna (dfiggz) | 3116 comments Mod
I am a graduate student of LIbrary Science and have to write my thesis next semester and I still have no idea what I want to do it on. I was thinking about the effects of social networks on libraries. Places like Goodreads, Shelfari, and LibraryThing.

I find that I have never been to a library so much before I started Goodreads and think it may sound kinda fun.

Any other ideas???

message 2: by Karla (last edited May 20, 2010 07:58AM) (new)

Karla (bookarita) | 86 comments I feel the same Donna Goodreads has really turned reading into worldwide shareing of good books that have started friendships and had me reading books I would have never thought to pick up. I know I didn't read with this much fury or level of entertainment.
I am really interested on how the kindle and ereaders have taken out the little book stores in my town we used to have 4 stores here now we only have one nd it doubles as a video and game rental store! So I don't know if this is a thesis idea or not but I have been thinking about it. Anyways that means Amazon and me have become good buddies as well as Paperbackswap site. I just heard of Bookglutton.com yesterday as well.
Anyways good luck on your thesis! you'll have to post it so we can see what you came up with!

message 3: by Donna, The Pusher (new)

Will do. My professor just said that I should to maybe a comparison on the 3 sites with the public library.

I was also thinking of the effects of E-books with libraries too so that may be another idea. I have the entire summer to try to come up wth something.

message 4: by Karla (new)