The Sword and Laser discussion

goodreads security

Comments Showing 1-7 of 7 (7 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Paul (new)

Paul Kelly (ptekelly) | 206 comments Hi

You might want to check who you are logged in as. I took a quiz today (on goodreads) and got an error message at the end with a suggestion I retake the quiz - which I did.

I then noticed my home page was weird. I checked the top and sure enough I was no longer logged in as me - I wasn't simply logged out - I was logged in as another user!.

I have no idea how this could happen - I do not know this user and I am not using a shared PC.

I am now very concerned about the security on this site. I have contacted goodreads to explain what happened as well as the person who's account I ended up in.

I thought you all should know about this

Paul

message 2: by Jon (new)

Jon (jonmoss) | 10 comments I've been using GoodReads for nearly two years now. While an occasional bug crops up, it is quickly fixed. I do not recall any security problems but the Feedback group might have a post about the issue you're describing.

Overall, GoodReads is my number one website to visit when I browse the Internet.

message 3: by Brian (new)

Brian (maeglin73) | 20 comments The same happened to me yesterday, as well, and there was a thread started in Goodreads Feedback about it around 11am. The reply came quickly, though, that it was being worked on. I haven't had any problems today.

Only a day and a half of experience with the site, here, but so far it's been working well more than it hasn't.

message 4: by Alex (new)

Alex Covic (buckybit) | 25 comments What I don't like about Goodreads is the flood of chatty messages you have to spend hours to shut up (or down)!