The Next Best Book Club discussion

Newbies Corner > Any other lawyers here? (please no lawyer jokes!)

Comments Showing 1-23 of 23 (23 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by astrangerhere (new)

astrangerhere Hi all,

I'm an attorney on the East Coast of the US and decide it was time to delurk myself on this fabulous group. I have a degree and a masters in literature in addition to my doctorate in law. Quite simply, as my girl puts it, I am a nerd.

So I say hello and throw myself at your mercy :)

Ast

message 2: by J. (new)

J. Guevara (jguevara) | 94 comments Sorry Ast, I thought the title of the topic was a lead in for a punchline. Personally I like lawyers. Those who think otherwise, obviously never needed one. I still watch old dvd's of LA Law, and wouldn't dream of missing Boston Legal.
So, what's the plan? Thinking of exercising your Ma degree?

Nice to meet you.

j guevara

ps: you wouldn't happen to practice copyright law wudja?

message 3: by Carol (new)

Carol Aw j she is not here to talk shop. Welcome AST! Have a good time here.

message 4: by KHoopMan (new)

KHoopMan  (eliza_morgan) | 151 comments I am also an East Coast lawyer...and a nerd! Welcome to goodreads : )

One lawyer joke (I'm allowed): A boat full of lawyers capsized, and when the sharks swam over they didn't attack a single one. Why?? Professional courtesy.

message 5: by Lori, Super Mod (new)

Lori (tnbbc) | 10060 comments Mod
Hi Ast, welcome to the group. A masters in Lit, that is really wonderful!!!

message 6: by astrangerhere (last edited Mar 17, 2010 02:25PM) (new)

astrangerhere carol (akittykat) wrote: "Aw j she is not here to talk shop. Welcome AST! Have a good time here."

The moment you tell someone you're a lawyer, you end up talking shop because someone always has a question.

(j) wrote: "ps: you wouldn't happen to practice copyright law wudja?"